Erewash Borough Council

Erewash in Bloom Gardening Competition

Residents, community groups, local businesses and schools are invited to take part in this year’s Erewash in Bloom Gardening Competition.

The competition, launched on April 28, just ahead of National Gardening Week 2023, which takes place from 1-7 May. People are being encouraged to create jubilant planting schemes to mark the Coronation of His Majesty King Charles III, celebrate his love of horticulture and mark the beginning of his reign.

The competition is one of largest in the East Midlands with categories for front and back gardens, wildlife and environmental gardens and hanging baskets and planters. There are also categories for schools, shops, pubs, restaurants and community groups. As well as some cash prizes, there are garden centre vouchers and trophies for some categories.

Anyone in the borough can enter by simply submitting up to eight photographs of their garden using the online form. Alternatively photos can be emailed to This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. – remember to include your name, address and a phone number and list which categories you would like to enter.

Postal entries can also be sent to Erewash in Bloom, Merlin House, Merlin Way, Ilkeston, Derbyshire DE7 4RA. The closing date for entries is Monday August 7, 2023.

Judging will take place in late August using the photos submitted, with winners announced in October.

Should you have any queries, please call 0115 907 2244 Ext 3886 or 3889.

The competition is one of largest in the East Midlands with 11 categories plus a special category to celebrate the Queen’s Platinum Jubilee – ‘Best Red White & Blue Jubilee Display’. Categories are:-

  1. Best Front Garden
  2. Best Rear Garden (Small)
  3. Best Rear Garden (Large)
  4. Best Wildlife or Environmental Garden
  5. Hanging Baskets and Planters
  6. Tallest Sunflower (Under 16’s only)
  7. Best Street / Communal Area / Community Project or Friends Group
  8. Best School Garden
  9. Best Allotment Site
  10. Pubs Restaurants and Hotels
  11. Shops, Businesses or Places of Worship
  12. Best Red, White and Blue Jubilee Display (To celebrate the Queen’s Platinum Jubilee)


Categories 1-5: First Prize £100, Second Prize £50, Third Prize £25

Category 6: First Prize £50, Second Prize £25, Third Prize £10

Categories 7-12: Certificates and trophies

Competition Rules

Entries only allowed from residents and businesses in Erewash.

The judges decision is final and we reserve the right not to give awards if the standard of entries is not high enough.

Employees of Erewash Borough Council are not eligible to enter.

More than one category can be entered if applicable.

Should you have any queries, please call the Greenspace Team on 0115 907 2244.