sports awards 2017Coaches, volunteers, players, teams and clubs have all been honoured in this year’s Erewash Sports Awards – a celebration event to salute outstanding sporting achievement in the borough.

The 12 winners all received their awards from Councillor Mike Wallis, Erewash Borough Council’s Lead Member for Culture and Leisure, at a recent presentation ceremony.

The event was supported by Erewash Community Sport Network in partnership with the council’s Sports Development team, who had the difficult task of picking winners and runners up for 12 categories from 71 nominations.

Councillor Mike Wallis, Lead Member for Culture and Leisure, says:

“There is a tremendous depth of sporting excellence in our borough and it is always a delight to be able to salute the individuals, the teams and the clubs who are a real inspiration to others. The awards event was a great celebration of that superb talent – people of all ages across a whole range of sports.”

 The Erewash Sports Awards winners for 2017:

Young Sportswoman of the Year
Ella Taylor-Tipton (skiing)
Kirk Hallam Academy

Service to Sport Award
Angela Hidle (Trident Swimming Club)

Disabled Sportsperson of the Year
Abbie Breakwell (wheelchair tennis)
Long Eaton School

Volunteer of the Year
Tony Rippon (Walk Leader – Walking for Health programme)

Junior Team of the Year
Ben Haylett and Finn Reilly McQueen (canoeing)
Friesland School, Sandiacre

Sportswoman of the Year
Helen Gorman (swimming)
Long Eaton Swimming Club

Young Sports Leader
Cassie Gallagher (volunteer at Sporting Futures)

Young Sportsman of the Year
Justin Taylor-Tipton (skiing)
Derby College

Club of the Year
Long Eaton Rugby Club

Active for Life Award
Adam Fretwell (fitness instructor)

Team of the Year
Long Eaton Rugby Club

Manager/Coach of the Year
Matthew Everard (Long Eaton Rugby Club)




Erewash Borough Council

Erewash Borough Council, Town Hall, Wharncliffe Road, Ilkeston, Derbyshire, DE7 5RP
0115 907 2244
DC Employer