Erewash Borough Council

Conservation Areas

A Conservation Area is an area "of special architectural or historic interest, the character or appearance of which it is desirable to preserve or enhance”. Conservation Areas are designated by the Local Planning Authority, under the Planning (Listed Buildings and Conservation Areas) Act 1990. There are 23 Conservation Areas in the Borough of Erewash. Documents relating to the Borough's Conservation Areas can be accessed on the Download Webpage.

  • Breadsall
  • Ockbrook Village
  • Breaston
  • Morley
  • Dale Abbey
  • Risley
  • Draycott
  • Sandiacre Canal Side
  • Eaton Bank
  • Sandiacre Cloud Side
  • Ilkeston
  • Sandiacre Lock
  • Little Eaton
  • Sawley
  • Long Eaton Derby Road
  • Stanley
  • Long Eaton Lace Factories
  • Stanton-by-Dale
  • Long Eaton Town Centre
  • Trent Lock
  • Long Eaton Sheet Stores
  • West Hallam
  • Ockbrook Moravian

Conservation area consent:

The consent of the Borough Council is required for the total or substantial demolition of any building with a cubic content exceeding 115m3 (about the size of a double garage). You can make an online application through the planning portal by clicking on the webpage below: 

Please note that it is a criminal offence to undertake such works without consent.

The Borough Council conducts a rolling programme of character appraisals and management plans for each of its Conservation Areas.

Works to Trees

Anyone intending to cut down, top, lop or uproot any tree in a Conservation Area must give the District Council six weeks notice of their intention to do so. This gives the District Council the opportunity to consider making a Tree Preservation Order where appropriate. You can make an online notification through the planning portal.

Please note that it is a criminal offence to undertake such works without consent.

These requirements do not apply to trees that have a trunk diameter of less than 75mm (3”) when measured 1.5 metres above ground level.

Article 4 Directions

The Borough Council may remove certain ‘permitted development rights’ from dwellings in a Conservation Area. This is done under Article 4 of the Town and Country Planning (General Permitted Development) Order 1995.

An Article 4 Direction can be applied across all or part of a Conservation Area. It can address any form of ‘permitted development’ that might harm the character of such an area, such as the replacement of windows or roof surfaces, or the painting of bare brick or stone façades.

Stanton-by-Dale Article 4 Direction

An Article 4 Direction protects many of the dwellings in the Stanton-by-Dale Conservation Area. This means that Planning Permission is required for the alteration or insertion of windows or doors at these properties. A map showing the dwellings covered by the Article 4 Direction can be downloaded by clicking on the link below: