Parking Fines

Derbyshire County Council has taken over responsibility for enforcing parking restrictions on the streets of Derbyshire (excluding Derby city) and traditional traffic wardens have been replaced by Civil Enforcement Officers (CEOs).

The rules on parking haven't changed - only who will be issuing PCNs. New teams of civil enforcement officers will be out and about across Derbyshire and they will issue PCNs to motorists who don't stick to the parking rules.

Civil Enforcement Officers deal with:

  • Limited Waiting Bays
  • Double/Single yellow lines
  • On-street pay and display bays
  • Residents parking zones
  • Blue Badge bays
  • Loading bays
  • Bus Stops
  • Taxi Bays
  • School keep clears
  • Clearways
  • Car parks (with orders)

The police deal with:

  • Double white lines
  • Obstructions (such as pavements with no parking restrictions)
  • Dangerous parking (such as on bends, brows of hills and junctions)
  • One way traffic
  • Box junctions
  • Access only
  • White hatched areas

Both deal with:

  • Dropped kerb access
  • Double parking
  • Pedestrian crossings

Parking enforcement will:

  • improve safety for everyone using the roads and pavements

  • keep roads free from obstruction and keep the traffic moving

  • prevent abuse of blue badge spaces for disabled people

  • help make short stay spaces in town centre car parks more available for shoppers

  • make sure emergency services vehicles and buses can get to where they need to go.


This is known as Civil Parking Enforcement (CPE) and Park Smarter is the civil parking enforcement partnership that will enforce off-street and on-street car parking in Derbyshire. This is also where you can pay any Penalty Charge Notice you receive, find out how to challenge or appeal your notice, and access our polices on enforcement and parking. If you pay the fine within 14 days the charge will be £35 for a serious offence or £25 for a minor offence. These rise to either £70 or £50 after 14 days.

ParkSmarter is a partnership between Derbyshire County Council and the eight district and borough councils:

  • Amber Valley Borough Council

  • Bolsover District Council

  • Chesterfield Borough Council

  • Derbyshire Dales District Council

  • Erewash Borough Council

  • High Peak Borough Council

  • North East Derbyshire District Council

  • South Derbyshire District Council.

It does not include Derby City Council.