Residents in the Long Eaton County Division will go to the polls on Thursday October 27 in a by-election to elect a councillor to Derbyshire County Council. The election has been organised following the death of Councillor Alan Griffiths.

The deadline for nominations was September 30 and four candidates will stand for election: Rachel Allen for the Liberal Democrats, Joel Martin Bryan for Labour, Ashley Christopher James Dunn for The Green Party, and Chris Page for The Conservatives.

Poll cards will be delivered to residents in the Long Eaton county division by Friday 7 October.
The deadline to register to vote is Tuesday 11 October. The deadline to apply to vote by post is Wednesday 12 October at 5pm and the deadline to apply to vote by proxy is Wednesday 19 October at 5pm

There will be polling stations on October 27 at:

  • Town Hall, Long Eaton
  • Portable cabin, Bosworth Way
  • St Francis of Assisi Church, Sidney Street
  • Trinity Methodist Church, Cross Street
  • Erewash Indoor Bowls Club, Grange Park, Off Station Road
  • Erewash Valley Gymnastics Club, New Tythe Street
The count will take place at Long Eaton Town Hall at 10pm on Thursday 27 October when the elected candidate will be announced.

More information can be found on the elections page or contact Erewash Borough Council’s elections team on 0115 907 1190 or email This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.