A fascinating new summer-long exhibition celebrating the history of Ilkeston’s Tramway has opened at the award winning Erewash Museum.
The town’s historic tramway opened in 1903 and was the first electric tram system in Derbyshire. Museum staff and volunteers have undertaken extensive research collecting material for the exhibition, which includes artefacts on loan from the National Tramway Museum and a wonderful collection of photographs dating from the installation of the system up until its closure in 1931.
The tram previously ran from Cotmanhay through to the town centre, and on to Ilkeston Junction or Hallam Fields. The entire tram journey measured just 3.78 miles in length and included nine tramcars. The depot and offices were based on Park Road.
The exhibition is free and runs until Saturday 28 September.